Need help connecting my external preamp to my Audio interface (Bypassing)

Soho Fresco

tc.jpgtone beast.jpg

I've searched many threads on here and Gearslutz about bypassing and tried following the steps but my daw still won't pick up any sound when my Tone Beast is connected. When I take out the TB and just record with the Twin, I am able to record with Audacity which leads me to believe I am not setting things up right.
I used a TRS to Trs Cable going from the ouput of the beats into the input of the twin. Then I used a XLR to XLR cable going from mic insert on the Beast to the mic. Yet when I press record on Audacity, I get nothing but a blue flat line (unable to record)

I'd appreciate some guidance through this whole bypassing process since it's my first time getting a external pre. The first picture is the audio interface (it's preamps can be bypassed) and the second picture on the right is the external pre.

Last edited:
You want to take that TRS output from your Tone Beast preamp, and run it into the 1/4" / TRS _input_ of the Twin interface (pick a channel; start with "1," I suppose). Then just the outputs as you normally do, and you should be getting signal. make sure that your "gain-staging" (volume settings) is correct. Make sure that your cables are good (trouble-shoot by switching cables; it's one of the simplest things that can go wrong and is often overlooked). Check your manual to make sure that you don't need top do some special internal set-up.

It should work fine.

GJ

---------- Post added at 08:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:10 AM ----------

PS-- BTW, are you going spdif, or light-pipe out, or what?

GJ

---------- Post added at 08:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:11 AM ----------

PPS-- Ah, going back to read your post, if I understand iot correctly, you definitely didn't set up right... You want "line out" to "line in."

GJ