Need advice for mixing ( kicks and drums)

DJMR7

Hello everyone, I've been making beats for a few years, but I would like to start working on my mixing game, because it really is something that I like to do, but I really don't know where to start. I'll post an instrumental so you guys will understand what I mean

djmr.bandcamp.com/track/church-on-the-run

I would like the kick of that track to have a better ''punch'', by that I mean attack I think. I would like the back voices that i added when the drums start to blend better, to have it's own little palce. I don't really know how I could achieve that, I'm not sure which plugin I should use etc

I'm using Fruity Loops Studio 10. If you want you can browse my bandcamp I uploaded a lot of instrumentals and I probably reapeat the same mistakes over and over again.

I would like to have your opinions on what I should on focus to improve.

You're looking at it from the wrong perspective. It was your decision to use weak sounds. Why did you? What's the point of using weak kicks (or whatever) at all?

Great music projects definitely don't start with a turd! That's not how it works.

Yes!

For example, when selecting kicks, make sure they really kick! Every later processing can only weaken the impact, emotion and quality of a sound.

Last edited: