My Studio Set-Up (Still Learning)

datboysc

I have the following, check out the list and give me your thoughts. I'm still learning and really want to add on I just recieved a booth that I ordered online. Check out http://www.soundboothsunlimited.com/?gclid=CMSym6_thKACFQhinAodlwz6uA I don't have any acoustics, just a dream, vision, and a passion in my apartment. I'm thinking if I can I isolate my workstation away from my vocal booth I could get a great sound for mixtapes etc. So again check out my list and give me your thoughts in detail. I just want to be able to have a good recording on my vocals so I can mix etc. In addition I know it's hard trying to be an artist & engineer playing musical chairs lol. Get at me!

M-Audio Fast Track Pro
M-Audio BX8 Monitors
Samson RH600 Headphones
M-Powered ProTools 8
FL Studio 9
Cubase SX
Eurorack MX2004A Mixer (I don't use) ON SALE $150
Windows XP Home Edition PC (I installed 2GB)
1TB External Drive (I save my sessions here)
Yamaha General MIDI Keyboard (use as a controller)
Samson C01 Studio Condenser mic
SE Mic Reflexion Filter
AKG Perfection 420 Mic

:sing:

you seems like your on the right track fam. all that i see that you should really think about purchasing is a PREAMP.

you gotta price range or a preference? we all help eachother pick out gear all the time.

Damn I been hearing that all weekend lol. I mean I thought the Fast Track Pro was a preamp, that leads me to my next question what is a good gain to start with on the Fast Track Pro. I'm tweaking as we speak. That damn AKG Perception 420 is so sensitive, well of course it's a condenser.

in the search bar at the top type in 'gain staging'

i believe morning star made a great post regarding setting up your amount of gain properly.

as i said too you in your vocal booth thread. your fast track is a audio interface aka a 'soundcard' it has a preamp in it.....but its not a good one at all.

like i said a proper vocal chain consist of atleast