Monitor headphones only playing out of one ear.

bulldog4574

Hi all,

Complete newbie here and I'm pretty discouraged. I recently purchased a used Behringer B-1, a Focusrite 2i2, some refurbed m-50x's, and assorted accessories.

When i went to test out the mic, I'm only getting sound through the left earphone when the mic is plugged into input 1. When I plug it into input 2, i only get sound out of the right earphone. This is with the m-50x's plugged into the headphone jack with the 1/4" cable that came with it. The headphones worked perfectly listening to spotify. The mic and headphones also sound fine when recorded, it's only when I'm monitoring that i only get the sound of one ear.

I completely switched out everything: got a new interface, reinstalled all drivers and headphones, mic cable, headphone cables, and it's always just out of one ear when monitoring.

When i started troubleshooting, I saw a lot of people talking about mono inputs and needing to record to a mono track, but i'm encountering this problem without a DAW at all. If i just go to sound settings in windows and test the mic out, I experience this. If i "direct monitor", i have issues too, but there i'm getting sound out of both earphones, but the sound isn't in sync.

Am i completely missing something? The only thing I haven't switched out yet is the mic, but again when i recorded and played it back, it sounded fine and the recording came through in both ears. Any thoughts anyone?

Sorry if I'm missing something super obvious, but I did a lot of googling and still haven't seemed to have found the answer.

Are you on Windows or Mac?

The mono v stereo discussion people have been having with you is accurate. Just because its happening even without a DAW doesn't discount that. You've got to dig deeper into your OS and figure out your routing. It could be in your OS, could be in your Focusrite settings.