Mastering Help

peterp

all right so ive been reading this forum for awhile, you know doing a lot of searches and just reading up and learning a lot from everybody on here. i dont know if i havent read enough (which i know the reading will never stop) or it just hasnt been asked of before, however, heres my story. im on a budget, which most people are when there first starting, cant quite afford to go to school yet even tho i want to, but what im looking for is what are some of the mastering programs out there, good books to read, dvd's, pretty much anything that i can learn from for right now to get a good idea of what exactly to look for or listen for when mastering. ive got a pretty good handle of our recording software, protools, im not going to say im an expert of it but i think for the most part i can get by for now. so im just trying to take that last jump and try to battle with the mastering aspect of it. i know the best thing to do is send it to a pro for that, but right now the pockets arent deep enough for that. so anything you can do to help will be greatly apreciated. every bit of info goes along way for me. thanks again

if you can't afford to have a pro master it, you can't afford to do it yourself. mastering is done in properly treated rooms with ridiculously expensive gear. even if you've got a nice interface and nearfields, chances are that your room is gonna muck up your sound anyways (also, nearfields aren't the proper speakers for mastering...). plus the software is expensive enough that you'd need to do quite a few for-pay projects to pay it off.