Looking for feedback on my mix

siydock

Hi, I am new to mixing. This is my second try at this mix and would love any feedback/critiques.

Thanks

I think that for the most part everything sounds good on its own, however, the separate elements are not mixed together very well.

The vocals are way too up front, they end up drowning out everything else.

They drown everything else out for 2 reasons. 1) They're just too loud. 2)They occupy the same "space" as everything else.

You need each element in its own "space" to avoid clashing.

The vocals also seem like they were just layed on top of the instrumental.

If you had carved some space out of each of the other sounds/layers, then the vocals would fit better in to the mix, instead of sounding like it was just thrown on top.

I'll weigh in.

The guitar is in a more present space and with the washy vocal reverb causes things to not sound 'unified.' You want them to sound like they're together in the same room. The guitar effects have some digital artifacts on the fuzz/overdrive/distortion. I like the sustain on the guitar though (not the effect tails at the end, just the sustain on the notes of the clean guitar).

Things to improve:
Lessen the reverb on the vocals or if you really want 'spacey' you're going to have to put the guitar in the same reverb 'space'.
As mentioned above, bring the vocal level down
Send both tracks to a Reverb Send Effect bus to see if you can unify them more.

Last edited:
Vocal has a lot of distortion..im not sure if its intentional? or maybe over compressed? Back off the reverb also and bring the vocal more upfront.

I really dig the Mike Ness kicking a can down the street vibe. I agree with Dotwreck when he says it sounds like the vocals are layered on top of the instrumental. However I do disagree about them being too up front. I think the vocals rock, are they the focus of the mix? If not, maybe approach the mix that way.