laying down rap vocals on top of an instrumental

Hopper7903

Hey I'm a producer, I've gotten really good at using logic to make beats but Ive decided i want to start rapping over them. I recently bought a blue yeti mic to record vocals over my instrumentals (is this a good mic to start with?). I dont have time to go to a studio so im forced to record at home in my room. the only thing is i am having trouble getting my vocals to sound right, they are not blending with the beat very well. it sounds weird. Am i suppose to record my vocals over an instumental that ive already bounced or should i record the vocals as a track with in the instrumental (un bounced) also how can i get my vocals to sound like they belong over the beat. Please help thanks!

The room you're in is going to play a factor in what type of vocal sound you get. The converters will play a role, the mic will play a role, pre amp will play a role, gain staging will play a role, mic placement will play a role, etc. All of these things contribute to getting the "right" sound and at the end of the day what is "right" is subjective anyway but you still want something that you feel proud of and are comfortable with.