large ampitheatre system setup / record

R

Rayne

I'm doing the system design for a rendition of 12th night at an outdoor ampitheatre. I've been doing a bit of research but nothing to spectacular has come up. Has anyone here ever had any experiance with outdoor sound? or the properties of an ampitheatre? I have never done a gig in a space like that before.. and last year 1 weekend has 2,000 people come. So I'd like to be able to make it sound right, ya know ;) since this year it'll be up for 2 weekends.

I'm going down to check out the space later in the week.. I'm runnign 12 wireless mics i'm renting.

What do you think I should be aware of before i go into tech? any advice on working with a large crowd at an ampitheatre? most of my other work has always been indoors.

Suffice to say that this is a major can of worms both technically and logistically but if it's done right it's also terrific fun.

The techniques involved in micing an orchestra and choir outdoors for PA and recording are generally very different from any normal indoor recording job. Unless you have a very special (read unfeasibly expensive) stage built, normal ambient orchestral/choral micing is not going to cut it. It can be helpful as an addition to the balance but to get the kind of control you need for PA and to help get reasonably clean sound for recording you'll need to adopt a more "studio" micing approach - i.e more mics and closer.

Technically, you have to overcome the complete lack of any usable acoustic reinforcement/support of the sound (apart from some horrible upper mid/HF slapback and tizziness from the normally more or less LF transparent construction) and the spill from the PA system causing feedback/colouration.