Jeezy's Put On:808 and sine bass in the same mix.

cntspitfiya

Alright,

I've been producing for 4 years now and can't figure out how to get these two elements in the same mix without clashing.

Drumma Boy has a deep sine bass playing with an 808 kick on top. Do any of you have an EQ tips to get them to sound good together?

Here's a link to the song for reference.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-L3PQlwlAw

Ntohing to it. A deep sine bass and the 808 kick doesn't have as much low end.

This is what it comes down to. Low end freqencies have tons of energy compared to everything else. So when you compress a track, or sound, the first thing that you compress is the low end if the mix is more or less even. With compressors nowadays, and limiters, they have automatic gain. This is why some people think that compressors make things louder, and they don't, the gain makes things louder. The average loudness is higher, and now we have, loudness.

What this has to do with the 808 kick is this. When you have an 808 kick you can take off as much as up to 70-80hz of bass with a filter and if you compress, you can get a lot of that back, just more sharp. This is because the compressor will compress that lower end first and will bring it out. This is how you bassline can be way down there because the bass drum won't be in its way since it's playing more at the +-90hz point. But you want to leave some of that low-mid end on the bass drum so you can hear it on systems with poor bass response.

You can create harmonics on the sine bass by clipping the bass. You can turn the sine into square if you want if you compress aggressively.

Again, compressors are not for loudness. In these instances, we use them to shape a sound, and to change a sound. EQ is not always the answer. Neither is compression but you can make them work for you very well in this case.