how much do you charge for mix and mastering a track?

Jboibeatz

Hello future producers, I was wondering how much everyone charge for their services. I'm also an engineer but just need some insight on how I should go about charging for my services. I honestly think I'm selling myself to short. I use to charge 10 an hour for studio time with mixing and mastering. The equipment I'm working with is pro tools, krk rokit 5 w/ bass traps, and the blue bird mic. I'm still an amateur with this but I don't think my quality is not to bad. I don't have a sample of my recording cuz I'm on my phone. Just need a general idea

This is that sh!t that kills the industry for professionals... amateurs offering cut-rate mixing is effectively making the professional studio obsolete, it's really unfortunate too, i mean do you value your craft??? 10 bucks an hour isn't even enough for me to chat with an artist... SERIOUSLY!!! I mean you get that for working in a call center (minus taxes)... If you're charging 10 bucks an hour people won't take you seriously, and when you do get to the pro level you'll lose the clients that you had at the 10 buck level because they'll feel discriminated against when you have to raise your prices... and you WILL have to raise your prices or have several side jobs

My advice, stop charging per hour and charge a flat rate for a block of time... and charge for the use of your equipment, I'd set it at something like 200 for a 5 hour block of recording... 50 bucks per song mixed, and something like 50 bucks per mic for the day... but dont break it down that way, just tell 'em 300 for 6 hours... the extra hour is for mixing down the tracks