How Does Vybe, Johnny Juliano, Superstar O Get There Mixes Soooooo Crisp?....

Beatz R Us

ive been working on my mix for about 2 years now and i still cant get them as crisp as those guys....are they using hardware compressors and eqs or somethin?...it cant be ALL software, can it?....

I'd be very surprised if it was much beyond included FX in FL or whatever they're using. Doesn't take much for a "crisp" mix. Easier to mess it up by overdoing.

they have to be using more than just FL for the mix....i know how to use eqs, compression, etc...but their overall sound quality and mix is just so crisp...maybe they're rewiring to protools or something

wouldn't make much difference. The answer is you've only been doing it for 2 years. Or, that they're tracks are ultimately mixed by a mixing engineer. Actually, I'm going to say it's both.

15h1utf.jpg

Like this.

THIS! This is also how they do those pitch bends and crazy stops also. This dude is the magic behind team hitz.

LeprechaunSurfingInternet.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
ive been doing it longer than 2 years....10+ years...but i just got serious about my mixing in the past few years

Since they do it everyday, they know which sounds goes together. They choose sounds that wouldn't clash with each other.

EQ, Panning, Compressing, and having a good ear can make your tracks sound crisp.

But seriously.....it has a lot to do with frequencies, spacing, proper sounds and proper use of fxs. You can get a clean mix ITB. DAW's (some will disagree) now-a-days has little to do with over-all sound because all of them are about at the same level of quality now, unlike years ago where Pro Tools sounded better than the others out there. I think you can get a decent mix out of any DAW if you know what you are doing IMHO.