Fruity Limiter on master channel?

MoSnow

So I'm pretty new to producing and recently I've been looking up tutorials on compression and limiting. Many people say to take off the limiter on the master and only put it on when you're mixing. The thing is, I wasn't aware of this and when I checked my master channel there was a limiter on it. I just finished a track and when I turn off the limiter the volume is a lot lower. I'm not sure what to do now, should I just leave the limiter on the channel or go through and mix everything over again? Plus some tips on limiting and compression would be helpful, thanks for reading.

I never use a limiter on the master track, makes the mix sound very "constricted" for lack of a better term, and kind of takes the life out of them IMO.

I never use a limiter on the master track, makes the mix sound very "constricted" for lack of a better term, and kind of takes the life out of them IMO.

you should never put a limiter on a mix

unless you throwing it on in the end for strictly LOUDNESS MASTERING
so you can display it on Soundclick,Soundclick,your beatstore,etc..
but when you send out the beat that someone leases you send a version without the limiter

-Coach Antonio

exactly.

I wouldn't use anything on the master during the mixing process. Even if you clip, as long as you export in a floating bit format you don't have to worry about losing any audio data to clipping. So technically, you could clip during certain periods of your song, export in 32 bits, send to a mastering eng. and have a banging track at the end. If you still aren't comfortable with that you could always gain stage like the good old days.

exactly.