Editing Vocals

fayah_bun

Hey I was just wondering about editing vocals
What is the “standard” procedure of editing main vocals before final mix with instrumental?
I did my first mix down & mastering and the final outcome was horrible. I know I need more time and practice but I guess something went wrong during process
I am a newbie and many things aren’t clear to me , so this is basically how I proceed

1. Cleaning the vocals by noise gate
  2. Normalization of vocals
  3. De-essing – here vocal lost bit of sharpness and become murky
  4. Delay
  5. Reverb
  6. Compression

Is something missing here or should I add another effect
I use shure 58 beta and before all those steps vocals were much brighter
Any help will be much appreciated coz I feel bit lost watching all those videos about editing

First of all: Editing means trimming, cutting, aligning. Sometimes also Ss, Ts etc are separated and turned down by level, and the overall dynamic range is reduced manually so a compressor doesn't have to do the hole work.

After a well done editing there's no need for a Noise Gate. Also Normalization is absolutely unnecessary.

Than the first step should be to cleanup the vox by using an EQ (get rid of low frequency rumble and resonating frequencies).

After this is done you can reduce dynamic range by using a compressor (or two, one for fast peaks, one for average loudness). Than you can musically shape the sound by using another EQ.

If needed, you can also use Deesser, Saturation etc.

Delay and Reverb aka time based effects are typical send effects. You can use EQ, Compressor on the delayed/reverbed signal as well.

Last edited by a moderator:
I disagree about normalization, which I think is good practice. Otherwise, Mad is spot on.