Distorted BASS in CAR???

willmarinbeats

willmarinbeats
Hi all,

So I've been making beats for a few years. Recently I put a bunch of my new beats on a CD and played them in the car.

For some reason, any track with a heavy bass or 808 sounded very distorted on the car speakers. I thought this may be because...

1. The tracks aren't compressed enough...
2. The speakers in the car just can't handle the bass...
3. The beat is clipping?

Honestly I have no idea as to exactly why this is happening. I master all my beats but it could be possible that I'm doing it incorrectly.

Any advice? Thanks ahead of time!

if you are hearing it distorted in the car then it is probably already distorted before it goes on the cd

i.e. the problem is there but you cannot hear it with the monitoring situation (which you do not tell us about) you are using

another question to check though - did you make it a proper CD or an mp3 data cd? if an mp3 data cd you may have inadvertently added a normalisation process into the processing chain which could have affected levels of each track

Last edited:
if you ae hearing it distorted in the car then it is probably already distorted before it goes on the cd

i.e. the problem is there but you cannot hear it with the monitoring situation (which you do not tell us about) you are using

another question to check though - did you make it a proper CD or an mp3 data cd? if an mp3 data cd you may have inadvertently added a normalisation process into the processing chain which could have affected levels of each track

I usually playback my beats on my Sennheiser HD 598 headphones or Yamaha HS5 Studio Monitors. I haven't experienced any distortion from those two sources... the distortion only happens in the car.

I didn't do a MP3 Data CD... but good observation!

Thanks for the response.

if you ae hearing it distorted in the car then it is probably already distorted before it goes on the cd

EXACTLY!!!!