Advice on buying an audio interface for composition/ mixing

arta

Hi, I'm new at music production, so I'll explain as best I can, hopefully I get the terminology right. :)

Basically I'm going to be making beats and dabbling at orchestral scores, so I won't be using recording equipment. Mainly using synths and samples to create instrumentals and scores and then mix them. I just need it basically as a great soundcard and also plug in a midi keyboard and studio monitors. I want to start using an audio interface soon as a step up from the ASIO4All driver I use on my PC. I have around $250 at max to spend but if there's some magical interface that will improve the quality for cheap I'll take that :)

Right now I'm looking at a couple audio interfaces:

1) Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6

Amazon.com: Native Instruments Komplete Audio 6: Musical Instruments

I've only known of Native Instruments for a couple months now but they are amazing with their hardware and software products! So I find myseld looking at this audio interface they have. Only thing is it uses USB 2.0 and my Dell XPS 2720 has USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt ports. I'm wondering if I can maximize them better.

2) Resident Audio T2 Thunderbolt

Amazon.com: Resident Audio T4 Thunderbolt Audio Interface: Musical Instruments

I have a Dell 2720 XPS and it has a Thunderbolt port which I never use. Apparently Thunderbolt has twice the speed of USB 3.0 and better latency.

So am I on the right track? Am I going overboard and can get something cheaper that has amazing quality? Or should I save more money and go for something higher?

I have a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, and while I know you didn't mention it as your alternatives, well it's fairly similar - but it's on a really decent sale on Amazon:
Amazon.com: Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 USB Audio Interface: Musical Instruments