When to Stop watching Tutorials and Start making Music

nilsiism

Hey there,

I'm new to this forum and I would welcome every feedback to my questions :)
First of all excuse my English. I still hope everyone can understand my problem.

I play guitar since a year and I'm new to music production. Music is a really big part of my life, but so far I just spend hours every day listen to music and going to gigs. I know exactly where I want to go and what my taste is, but I have no idea how to get there.

I'm a mechanical engineering student and in the last couple of years if learned to work myself in the theory of stuff really fast. I'm definitly far away from knowing a lot, but I think I know already far too much, then a beginner (who hasn't finished one track yet) should know.
I read tones of articles and tutorials about:

• My DAW (Ableton Live 9)
  • Synth, Sound Design, Drumprogramming
  • Compression, Reverb, Delay, …
  • Music Theory, Arrangemen, …
Every time I talk to my friend (who produces techno), I know so much more about the theory and commands then him, but he’s actually finishing one great track after the other and I'm not.

I'm really into

1. Electro and synth pop and electronica. I love bands like Banks, Sylvan Esso, CHVRCHES, Made in Heights, Purity Ring, FKA Twigs, Klo.
  2. Experimental electronic music, like Darkside, Chrome Sparks, Shigeto, Shlohmo, Emancipator, Cashmere Cat

And this is where my problem starts. There is little to no guidance in the internet how to start making this music. All my friends who make music make either house or techno, so there is also no one I can ask.
I would love to make electro pop. But vocals are a big part of this genre and I know no one who can sing and I doubt that anyone who can sing, wants to make music with me, as I have no idea how to make it.