What VSTs or beat making tools does famous producers use?

westside2

When I make beats in FL Studio, it doesn't sound professional.. Although I use good VSTs (like Nexus) and quality drum kits and good mix&mastering techniques, it still doesn't sound really professional.

For example, 50 cent - candyshop (produced by scott storch) beat.. Man it was created almost "10" YEARS ago but it's still great and very high quality sound and so clear. It's still impossible to make a beat like that for me. Furthermore I've been making beats for 6 years, I'm not that amateur either.

What tools and techniques did they use to make a professional beat like that?

Last edited:
Scott Storch used to use the Yamah Motif for a lot of his beats. The major producers use the same thing as the up and comers, they might have couple people in their team help with mixing and mastering. Sure a lot of them create their own sounds from scratch too instead of relying on presets.

Last edited:
Major trap producers use VSTs such as Omnisphere, Purity, Hypersonic, ElectraX and Nexus. This is only a handful that I have seen them use.

equalizers, filters etc.Synthesis is something that can be achieved built in the daws already, most romplers are just patches made with other vsts except alchemy and omnisphere, those are hybrid plugins like harmor is.You could also try that "shelving" thing.

hardware synth modules, played by real keyboard players,

guitars played by real guitarists,

bass guitars played by (you guessed it) real bass players,

drumkits played by (wait for it) real drummers

real brass played by real people

real strings played by real people and so it goes

in addition they would have used real hardware mixing and recording equipment if doing this more than 10 years ago, so a limited number of actual fx units as opposed to a plugin that can be dropped multiple times in the same session