What do I need to really get started?

Ruve

Ruve
Hey, I'm an electronic music fan from Atlantic Canada. I've been listening to EDM extensively for about 5 years now, and I've decided I'd love to actually produce. I know a bit about song structure, and I've been told by a couple of people that the best DAW to use would be FL Studio (since I'm on a PC, and a beginner). Besides decent speakers + headphones, and FL, what else do I need to set up a basic little studio, in terms of gear?

Aside from what you already listed, the next 2 items on the list are usually a MIDI Keyboard for playing the virtual instruments you'll be using in FL, and an Audio Interface for running various instruments and mics into/out of your computer. (You may not need this right away, but I got one to start with, and my MIDI runs through it.)

Other than that, take plenty of time to learn FL or whatever DAW you end up on. The more familiar you are with the software, the easier it is to get rolling.

I suggest these two VST for your sounds
1.Massive
2.Sylenth1

and there are tons of free drumkits out there designed for trance,dubstep,techno,etc...
so a lot of hard pump bass drums,clap,snares

I like Sylenth1 and Massive because I'm a preset slut

but with these two vst you can make your own presets as well

-Coach Antonio
My ebay Store

if you wait to go hard-ware based yes a Akai MPC could help
I use a Akai MPD16 which is just the pads and hook it up through USB for doing MIDI recording with FL Studio's FPC VST

but I'm probably confusing the guy now

just download demo of different DAW and try them out

I love FL Studio
but
some
love
Albeton Live

or Reason

-Coach Antonio
My ebay Store

Dude,

I've been producing for 5 months now, and use FL Studio, without any complementar gear.

As Coach Antonio said, Massive is a great VST, I use it for almost any sound I want to. Still, I'm getting the hang of FM8 (also from Native Instruments) for my basses.