What defines a skilled producer?

yancy :j

Welcome everybody,
First off, I want to say that I am a complete newbie to producing. I've been on this forum for a while reading some stuff, watching beat making videos etc. The want to be a producer started from my love for music, specifically R&B, soul and hip hop.

I'm wondering what features does a skilled producer possess? Do I need to know whole lot of various and obscure music that I'd possibly use for sampling or get inspired by? Does a skilled producer listen to all the genres? How much amount of time a typical music producer devotes to listening records? What's ear training? Do producers have trained ears? Do they play all the instruments? Do I need to know the whole music theory? How much time averagely would it take me to start living off the beats, from the very beginning?

I got lots of questions like that. I've already found out that this forum is a real gem among the producing-themed sites and a wonderful place to ask and learn. I'd be pleased if you shared some knowledge related to my queries and maybe some links to additional tutorials designed for total newbies like me.

Hi mate, welcome to the world of producing - long road ahead :)

This is a very relative set of questions, and each person will give you different answer depending on how they personally perceive the music industry. I will try to answer your questions to the best of my ability by my own standard.

Q: what features does a skilled producer possess?