question about the Roland SP-606

P

prolific

I'm pretty new to everything. . but I was planning to get the Akai MPC2000xl and went to samash yesterday to check it out. . as it turned out, it had no sounds on it. . couldnt do much. . but there was a Roland SP-606 on and I was ****in around with it... **** wasnt that bad, I was goin pretty crazy wit it.. so my question is. . since I'm a beginner. . would you guys say I should cop that to start out with?. .
also. . does anyone use the Roland SP-606 to make their beats? If so, let me know. . thanks, I appreciate all suggestions,opinions, and info!!

prolific said:
I'm pretty new to everything. . but I was planning to get the Akai MPC2000xl and went to samash yesterday to check it out. . as it turned out, it had no sounds on it. . couldnt do much. . but there was a Roland SP-606 on and I was ****in around with it... **** wasnt that bad, I was goin pretty crazy wit it.. so my question is. . since I'm a beginner. . would you guys say I should cop that to start out with?. .
also. . does anyone use the Roland SP-606 to make their beats? If so, let me know. . thanks, I appreciate all suggestions,opinions, and info!!

I'm surprised to see the MPC had no sounds on it, my guess is that you've never used an MPC (not that I'm any good with one) or read the manual.

But, onto your question.

The SP-606 is a good machine, and yes you can make professional quality beats with it. Since it is a box, it is limited to what it can do and how you achieve this, but that goes for anything.

I can't think of any one producer who uses this machine off the top of my head, not that I care, but I'm sure the big shots either use it still or have at least smashed out one bager with it.

This is an upgrade from the 505, so anyone who used the 505 would also know a thing or two about them. This is an expanded model, but based on the same princicple from the 505.