Production beginner looking for some guidance

Zach2598

Hey everyone, I'm a huge fan of 90s and early 2000s hip hop and R&B, and my love for listening inspired me to try and produce my own music. I have purchased both Logic Pro X and the AKAI MPK Mini controller, but I have no knowledge whatsoever on how to use either of them. I'd appreciate it if anyone can point me in the right direction and explain in the simplest possible terms for a beginner to understand how to get started. I've tried looking at youtube tutorials but they tend to be too advanced for me to understand. Thanks in advance.

I could help with non-DAW related topics, because I use FL Studio. ;)

I recommend you start practicing by making loops (4 bars sections) of the genres you want to learn.

At the same time, learn how to use:

-DAW
-How to open, save and load projects.
-How to use mixer, arrangement view, options.
-How to open Virtual Studio Technology Instruments (VST-i).
-How to open plugins in general.
-How to render project to audio and zip files.
-How to render stems (advanced).
-Read your DAW manual.

-Production and Mixdown Theory
-How to propely equalize elements.
-How to propely adjust volumes.
-How to use effects like reverb and chorus.
-How to sound design.
-How to use sidechain and compression in general (advanced).
-How to use panning techniques (advanced).
-Search for material to read.

-Arrangement Theory
-Learn how to make an arrangement by trying to remake a track of the genre you want to learn.
-Learn about Layering (this is crucial).
-Listen to A LOT of music.
-Search for books in the internet if you are struggling too hard.

-Composition
-Learn about music scales, chords, notes, etc.
-Learn about harmonic progression, harmonic field, melody, counter-melody, counterpoint.
-Learn how to draw MIDI.