oh wow, didnt know about this forum! what hand drums do ya have?

fluxtah

I have a REMO djembe, really nice one with real drum tuning heads.

Also I have MEINL bongos, really nice too.

I try to play them but Im no expert never really had any proper tution but I try my best.

Anyway, wicked :D

fluxtah

I got some pretty cheap LP Congas... used... fiberglass... you know the gig.

I'm learning how to play them too... strangely, they are my favorite instrument to play, I just kind of go into a trance playing rhythms on them.

I own one of the Remo Paulo Mattioli djembes myself... I love the sound, although it's a bit artificial (a little too easy to play, I think...) but it's definitely a lot of fun. How long have you guys been playing? Either of you play the doumbek?

I been playing congas for... oh... 2 months now. I wanna join in on some drum circles around the area, there's one coming up on Friday I think in a town about 5 miles from here.

Do you guys do drum circles? I think they get a bad rap as being the domain of "smelly dreadlocked hippies" (no offense to hippies... I can be pretty smelly myself, and had dreadlocks once...) and that pisses me off... as far as a communal musical experience goes drum circles can't be beat (no pun intended)... for christ sakes, they've probably been around for longer than any other music...

No... I don't play the doumbek... are those the drums that are made of clay... and go "bawooomp"?

How do you guys play? Do you learn beats on your hand drums, and then join in on that beat? or do you improvise? I try to find a series of evolving, but steady beats, that complement other rhythms... I don't really have the confidence to improvise on congas yet.

(BTW I usually play saxophone.)

ive been bashing my drums for about a year, the djembe is fairly recent one, I think the REMO djembe is great for festivals cos its so robust it can be thrown around but its in no way a traditional djembe.