Noob frustrated with sound design

Kyrpto

I've been working with FL Studio for the past month or so and what I found absolutely frustrating is getting the exact sound I want. Now I am a pretty well accomplished musician. I've been playing the guitar, piano, bass and drums my entire life. However this is my first time working with a DAW and my experiences are practically none existent. I have no problems with composition but finding the right sound or rather the sound that I want is the frustrating part. I mainly use Sylenth and Massive and I literally spend over half my time going through all the presets trying to find the right timbre which I think is a complete waste of time. So where do I start? I tried watching some tutorials on youtube but didn't really find it all that helpful. I wouldn't mind forking out some cash. I recently came across a website called Make Better Music - ADSR Sounds, Tutorials & Courses - ADSR which is subscription based. Is it any good? Any tips would be appreciated.

Well I think watching Tutorial videos on Massive and Sylenth taught me how to make certain sounds which in turn teaches you what things do, you can create the sound you are looking for from scratch if you have some kind of idea of how - I would suggest watching a few of the Computer Music masterclasses on Youtube, the Sub Focus one taught me how to use Massive automation for example.

There are also a LOT of soundbanks out there for additional presets that are of high quality and not too expensive. I personally now very rarely use the default presets, I either make the sound I want from scratch or if I do want to use a preset its usually from an add-on soundbank and then tweaked to my preference.