Needing some help`

jacktyme

Hi everyone, i'm a new forum member. I have been producing on and off since 2012. I am no where near professional yet but I am getting there.

I have a question. I'm trying to produce/copy an effect. I'm not sure what the name of the effect is called, maybe its called slurring or it has something to do with a pitchwheel.

The effect begins about 12 seconds in the track and is played throughout the track. I can hear a tape stop in it too. I suspect it requires multiple effects like gating, and tape stop etc.

Can someone(s) help me find out what effect VST does this type of effect. Would be greatly appreciated. I am not sure if I can replicate this type of effect with my DAW (FL Studio 11). Because maybe its done with DJ equipment, which I do not have. Some names of VSTs that can help me do this would be good.

Thanks

EDIT: I can't post the link to the track because I'm a new member. But if anyone would take the time to check the track on youtube and help me that would be awesome.

The name of the track is: Ryan Hemsworth - Slurring (Baauer Remix)

If you're talking about the flute sounding instrument, it could be just that. A flute. Try using a flute sample or even a synth. Something like a pan flute preset, or a blown bottle synth preset and click on the glide feature. Mess around with portamento and monophonic modes and try different glide/slide time. Make sure the amplitude envelope has 0 release.

Good luck!

I was also wondering how the subtle flute was made. But no thats not what I meant. Its the main part, I have no idea what the type of effect is called. Its not a vocal its a synth with distortion added and it seems to be gated I think. I'm not sure. After you hear the vocal "She don't hear no words" around 0:12 it starts playing and it plays through the track.

Thanks for your response though.