MIDI MPC or MIDI keyboard?

P

Pauliofish

as the question says, which one would you guys find more useful? i'm using FL Studio to produce my beats/instrumentals.

im a student with a- well, tight student budget. still in that age for clothes, fun, food, gifts, school, haha... so im not sure how much i can spend.

But i have no hardware, only FL and some plugins. i find it really difficult to make any progress tho.

I really think i need equipment. as im still a newbie, i only know two equipments: mpc and keyboard. i play drums and piano, so i cant really decide between the two. can you recommend what i shud get first and recommend a model?

please do inform me of hardware equipments. thank you!

an m-aduio oxygen 8 is a good keyboard to start with, costs about £70

tbh if your on a tight budget i wouldn't jump straight into getting an mpc they're a lot of money and you may not even like it.
if you want to use some pads id suggest the mpd series, cheaper but only works as a controller but will work wil FL studio.
even cheaper behringer probably do some piece of shit thing with some pads

personally i use my drum machine a lot more than my keyboard but it depends what you do most. i use my keyboard for playing in bass lines and synth chords.

i use the drum machine for drums lol, and playing in chopped samples.

I hate to say it but I don't think MPC's are worth the money nowadays with all the other options available. You can get a axiom 61 and use the drum pads with something like groove agent and its really just as effective for less money. But for people who really prefer the feel and workflow of an MPC, I understand..

I have a feeling that by "MIDI MPC" the OP actually did refer to the MPD series instead of the "real thing".