looking into making beats, need info from all helpful souls!!

OnMyWay781

Hello music family. I'm looking to get into making beats. i have ZERO knowledge in this, but its something I've been wanting to do for years. i'm constantly make beats in my head, but to lay them out on a keyboard, computer or mpc, I'm 100% clueless. i guess thats why I've been waiting so long to actually get started, lack of knowledge. i have a friend who makes music, he's a rapper. i want to be a part of what he's doing but not on the rapper side. plus there is a lot of other people from my city and state who are up and coming that id like to work with. we are on the verge of something. plus i know people in other states who do music, I'm sure all i need is the drive and connections all around to really make something happen.

my question here is, what type of equipment should i get/do i need to start off with? i have a spare room in my spot so I'm going to be using that space to work. i want to use FL studio, but I'm currently on a Macbook pro. i don't think the 2 are compatible. I'm going to need a different laptop. what type mpc or keyboard should i get. what other equipment should i get to start off with? after i get all this equipment, what are some good tutorials to watch? pictures of some of you guys set up in your house would be good too. any and all info is helpful, thanks in advance to anybody who replies to this and helps me out!

Last edited:
macs use bootcamp for that If not mistaken.[Windows/linux guy forever]
Audio interface [Kills Latency]
good headphones/earbuds.
Vsts.
Reading the manual/watching youtube.

Where's your rapper friend's music and what city are you from/in?