Just starting out, need advice on best setup for learning...

Hello :)
I am new to digital recording & have been enjoying playing with Reason on my mac for a while, but would like to get more serious with hardware, ect. Would this be a good setup, or would you change anything?

Motu Traveler+Micron+Ableton Live

I think Live would be enough to cover my small mixing/midi needs for now, and it would be mostly computer stuff which I am comfortable now with, what do you think of the Motu hardware or the Micron? I was hoping I could learn and grow with this setup, maybe adding as I have $$ as my funds are limited now... Thanks for your advice
-[[stereoisomer]]

sorry, what I mean is I like using Reason but I want to start building a 'real' sort of project-type studio, so is the Traveler or the Micron good building blocks?
Live I had always planned to get once I heard it worked well with Reason, so I'm hoping I could use that as the main software for recording also, rather than cubase or something too expensive. thanks

Last edited:
Normally I wouldn't reply to this kind of post, but your name is stereoisomer, which leads me to believe you are studying O-Chem at a university. I loved learning about enantomers and stereoisomers when I was in college so I'll reply to your thread.

1) You don't need hardware anymore. I've had to live in 2 bedroom apartments for years because I had so much gear. When I got my new Mac G5 dual 2.0, I got rid of all my hardware and went exclusively to software.