Idk what I’m doing

James89

Hi I’m James. I started wanting to be a producer when I saw an Instagram ad about LA recording school. It looked fun. I’ve always been really into music. It’s my life. But instead of spending an arm and a leg going to a trade school, (already did that) I wanted to teach myself music production. So I got a midi keyboard and a daw. But idk how to tweak sounds to get them how I want them to sound. I also don’t know how to compose a whole beat. I just do little riffs. Any advice? Sorry in advance if there’s already a thread on this; I’m a newbie.

Just stick around and keep reading. Ask (specific) questions as they come up.

Search through the various production-oriented threads. Listen to a lot of music.

I'm not sure if you have any background as a musician, but it would help. I will suggest a couple of books though. I'm not sure if they're both still in-print; you'll have to do a search.

* The Synthesizer Cookbook

https://www.amazon.com/Welshs-Synthesizer-Cookbook-Programming-Universal/dp/B000ERHA4S

* Rock Arranging (don't worry about the "Rock" title; the principles apply across the board)

https://www.amazon.com/Billboard-Book-Rock-Arranging/dp/0823075370

(I guess you can still get them one way or the other, as evidenced by the links above; search already done for you!).

Enjoy the journey...

GJ

theres a lot to learn buddy. but thats okay we have all been there. there really isnt a best place to start. you kind of just have to dive in to tutorials and forums and take baby steps. dont go to a school, all the knowledge you need is on the internet. i learned that the hard way. but maybe thats just my preference.