How much should I charge for studio time?

RizzyB

RizzyMac
So I have finally added a home made vocal booth. It is by all mean NOT a professional setting but does yield reasonably good vocals for any track.

My question is how much should I charge my local rappers/singers to lay there vocals down in my studio? I have no experience in charging people for studio time. Ive been making beats for a few years now and ive recently gotten into recording vocals and what not.

So any advice is welcome guys thanks!

For me, As of right now Im in my room, So Im charging 10bucks an hour. Then depending on the beat the artist wants I might charge them for that aswell. Do/can you mix?? Will you be doing any mixing? Do they want any mixing done? Im not an idiot I know thats for the "Pros" but I can get some dope mix's. Gotta that things like that into consideration as well.

Over all charge what you think they'll pay, and whats worth your time!!

I def feel you on the mixing aspect. Im no pro when it comes to mixing but I have the nessesery knowledge to mix down all of my tracks to a high quality production in the end. So as far as mixing a beat for a artist im sure they would put any of my productions straight to there mixtape or album. So yea was thinking something like 10 - 20 an hour myself

Yeah thats what Im saying, No offense at all or intended(Cuz Ive never heard anything of your thus far) Your not a pro in a "real" studio are you? If not aint nobody gonna wanna pay more than 50-60 bucks for ONE hour?? Maybe if your in cali or hook-ups on artist with doe to waste! 10buck 20bucks an hour is almost robbing the producer/Enignneer(SP) ya dig. You make money..... may not be much but if you get the repeater that come back your looking at making some decent loot homie!