How long does it take you to find the right drums for your track

DavidStarz

So I'm still pretty new to producing (little over a month) and was working on a song last night but got frustrated and gave up for the night because it took me over an hour to find the right drums that I had in mind for the track. I'm still learning and trying to get better at layering drums so that probably paid a big part in it but I was just curious to see how long it takes you guys to find the final drums for your tracks?

Everything from 10 secs (sampling a beat from vinyl/itunes) to days. What genre?
And working out great drum sounds from scratch takes time. Key words are layering, compression, EQ and never to forget; stereo effects or plain panning.

Keep it up.

If you have an idea just go with it don't waste time compressing and EQ'in,especially not kits you've downloaded.Just find a sound and go with it,later on after you've got into the groove of the track you can layer or replace the drums.Same goes with vsti's,just get the track started.

Peace

So I'm still pretty new to producing (little over a month) and was working on a song last night but got frustrated and gave up for the night because it took me over an hour to find the right drums that I had in mind for the track. I'm still learning and trying to get better at layering drums so that probably paid a big part in it but I was just curious to see how long it takes you guys to find the final drums for your tracks?

Starting out it took hours because didn't know very much and i had a huge collection of drums. The more i made music the easier it became. After you do this for a while you'll start to have "go to" sounds

finding drums is easy.making your own is medium.

equalizing any drum to fit a track is hard mode.

some people prefer drum be in sync,same note as melody in backround.
Some do not care matter of this be.Some people put random tribal noise in track,