How long did it take you to get "good?"

ipodchicken

I've been working with fl studio and a mpk 88 and I'm JUST starting to understand how to navigate and chop and use samples.

I'm still really, really bad. I set out to make a beat then I do something cataclysmicly wrong in my daw ruining everything or it just come out sounding lame.

How long did it take you to get to the point where you though "ok this is it?"

I want to get this good. Make a beast in 10 minutes...not crap in 2 hours..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irb335ThC

Last edited:
It took me about 2 years to figure out what I needed to use to make the sound I like (from Australia so didn't have anybody to show me) then another 2 to get comfortable in the software I use to make music. I have been making beats since 2004.

10,000 hours

images

Last edited:
I had no idea what I was doing when I first started out, I believe I was handicapped because I don't play any instruments..

I knew what I wanted the beat to sound like, but I didn't know how to play it out. Or I didn't know how to make melodies. If I did chance upon a good melody, I didn't know how to "build the beat up" -- what kind of instruments to put it together with, how to make supporting melodies, etc.

For the longest time I blamed it on my equipment and lack of sounds, but if anything it's just a lack of production knowledge. When I started seriously studying (reading music theory books, watching beatmaking videos on YouTube, reading and watching piano courses, etc. damn near everyday for about a couple of months now) my music has improved a lot.

I don't think I'm making classics, but I'm making stuff I actually WANT to rap on. Still got a long way to go, but I'm starting to get there.

I am making beats since 2006 and however in 2008 my beats where ok, u just learn so much over time,