how do you actually get started producing music?

jackie11

Hi there

I've been learning to play the guitar on and off for over 2 years now, I also own a decent keyboard of which I can play a little. But I've only been learning other people's songs. How do I start creating my own? Do I need to learn music theory first? What else do I need to learn? How long can I expect the process to take until I produce my first song? Any help you can give me would be great. Many thanks, Jackie.

You make noise until you like it and hit record. You could produce your first song right now. You could book some studio time with a producer or even buy a DAW yourself.

You make noise until you like it and hit record. You could produce your first song right now. You could book some studio time with a producer or even buy a DAW yourself.
Hi thank you for the reply.
But surely there's some kind of strategy? I don't wanna book time with a producer as I think that would be very expensive, and I want to create the music myself. Is there a way to produce without a daw? I was looking for a way that's not digital, or is it unavoidable in this day and age? Thanks again.

It's possible to make songs without a daw, it's just a different type called hardware.

I'm a in the box dude [software] so I have basically no experience with hardware out side of a mic for folly and effects/drums.
But making music without a daw is basically using the hardware versions and real instruments and would require a high quality tape recorder machine right?
If you don't use a daw then you'd need one of those tape machines or learning how to use hardware sequencers.

I use software 24/7 but the hardware should be the same in look and design.

Last edited:
Some good friends years ago recorded and layered straight into Audacity through some mics.
In time they saved up and wired into some firewire mixer and external audio stuff.