How do J Dilla, Madlib, and a few others get that off beat sound ????

S

samplesbank

So I listen to allot of hip hop and noticed cats like j. dilla, madlib, black milk, flying lotus and a bunch of others.....

....they have this off-beat sound to their tracks like the snare is late or early and the high-hats seem off but on at the same time.

I got access to an mpc 3000 where I work as an engineer and I've been trying to get that sound by using no quantize and having the metrognome off ...but still can't get that vibe.

What's the secret???

Ok....so I just got done listening to Erykah Badu's new album and the first song is called "The Healer" produced by MadLib and he's doing the offbeat soud again.....so I sampled the track...slowed it down....and it sounds like all the snares are early by a har instead of exactly on.....

....I think what he's doing is shifting all the snairs a tiny bit early....what do you guys think????

Last edited by a moderator:
He's not shifting anything he's just playin live like a real drummer would. Just leave ya quantize off and play in a good rythem, you'll get that off beat sound.

Well if you play with good timing your beat will flow, and won't sound offbeat unless you practice offbeat.
My only guess is that each drum hit is being played separately, or at least some of them are.

When you play your drums all at once with good timing it flows like a drummer does.

Alot of cats using mpc's record each hit to it's own track, and aren't sequencing the whole kit at once.
It's pretty easy to get that offbeat sound that way.

So Basically just leave the metronome and quantize off ???? I still need something as a guide

Just play it how you want it to sound it aint hard. Hit the pads where you want the sounds to go, if you cant do somethin as simple as that then you in the wrong game kid.

You puttin way too much thought into this