Equipment Set-up Question

mrblast

Hey all. Firstly, apologies for asking what has probably been asked a thousand times before but I am struggling to find a solution to my production requirements online.

Apologies for length.

Background:

15 to 20 years ago I used to make sample-based hip hop beats.
Set-up at the time was:
Direct drive turntable
Mixer
PC
Cool Edit Pro
Acid Pro

This suited me well. Cool edit Pro was brilliant for editing samples. Acid Pro was amazing for building tracks. Turntable and mixer was great for recording samples from vinyl into PC and for adding cuts.

What I found difficult was creating decent drums and was always looking for a more "hands-on" approach.

Anyway, life took over, I moved overseas and it all stopped but I'm looking to get back into production now.

Technology has changed a lot since then so I'm finding it a little difficult to discover the best set up.

Also, whilst I have some experience in production, it is all self-taught and I previously found software such as Cubase and logic very difficult to use.

What I want is:

Good DAW
Wav sampler/editor
Drum controller
Mixer
Direct Drive deck
A means of being able to play music digitally from the deck

DAW - I see ACID Pro 8 has been released and would be happy to use this again. However, I have concerns about its integration with the rest of my set up. So I would consider alternatives.
Wav sampler/editor - is there anything like cool edit pro these days? I know there is Adobe Audition but their sub-based model is bollocks.
Drum Controller - completely open on this although I like the look of NI Maschine mk 3
Mixer - Open on this also although it should be good for cuts. Traktor Kontrol z2 looks decent
Deck - Open also. Reloop 8000 mk 2 looks good as does Rane 12. Whatever I get, it needs to at least emulate the feel of a 12" turntable. Previously I also owned the Vestax VCI 300 mk2 but struggled to get used to the feel of the platters.