Does a Behringer C-1 condenser mic need a preamp ?

O

OliverPractice

I'm not a producer I wanna use it to practice rapping and singing. When I want to record a real song I'll go to a studio. Basicaly I'm not building a studio at all cause ...... I am not a producer. Here is the mic I wanna get, and my question is if I need phantom power for it or can I just buy it and use it like it is.

MIC
Amazon.com: Behringer C-1 Studio Condenser Microphone: Musical Instruments

if I need phantom power should I order this

Amazon.com: Behringer PS400 Ultra-Compact Phantom Power Supply: Musical Instruments

is +12 / +48 V enough, this here says +36 to +52V http://www.behringer.com/assets/c-1_p0226_m_en.pdf

please help me quick so I can order it and start killin shit. Takes a few days to ship.

Last edited by a moderator:
The mic needs phantom power (48volt) to function .
Yes that PS400 will suply phantom power , but you will still need a preamp for the mic , and then the signal will be to high for a laptop input .

You need to buy an audio interface , that will power the mic and accept the high signal level that "pro" standard equipment uses .

Yep. Preamps don't automatically equal phantom power, even though the majority of them do provide it.

The mic needs phantom power (48volt) to function .
Yes that PS400 will suply phantom power , but you will still need a preamp for the mic , and then the signal will be to high for a laptop input .

You need to buy an audio interface , that will power the mic and accept the high signal level that "pro" standard equipment uses .

I got an computer if that makes a difference, from laptop.

So how much more does that cost ?

If significantly more I'll just get an dinamic mic again, something for 100 $. It's jsut rpactice even though I'd still like to get an realistic sound os I can judge myself and not think I sound bad cause the audio quality is low.