Complete Beginner

ArtaxiasNegus

Hey all, I'm pursuing a career in professional audio production and/or engineering and I'm currently in college majoring in music. I have tested the trial/demo versions of a few DAWs (FL, Ableton, Cubase) and a friend has the full Logic Pro X that I occasionally mess around with. I understand the huge debate regarding which DAW to use, but after plenty of research I've learned several things; Ableton has a problem called 'plugin delay compensation', Logic only supports AU and no VST plugins, and that Cubase has some crash problems (especially on Mac).

I DO plan on purchasing Pro Tools after I graduate in a year or two and have a decent budget since it seems to be the best for post-production and is the industry standard.

1. Which DAW (Ableton, Cubase, or Logic) would you recommend I start with for editing, recording, mixing, and mastering?
2. MAC or PC?

Thanks in advance!

They're all equally full fledged DAWs. It's more of a matter of deciding which workflow you like and learning your DAW in and out. And that's something that takes time.

I use FL, but I can't say any one daw is better than the other.

Fasho, I tend to work more efficiently on linear designed DAWs so I'll just keep exploring them and see which one feels the best for me. Right on!

Last edited:
Hey all, I'm pursuing a career in professional audio production and/or engineering and I'm currently in college majoring in music. I have tested the trial/demo versions of a few DAWs (FL, Ableton, Cubase) and a friend has the full Logic Pro X that I occasionally mess around with. I understand the huge debate regarding which DAW to use, but after plenty of research I've learned several things; Ableton has a problem called 'plugin delay compensation', Logic only supports AU and no VST plugins, and that Cubase has some crash problems (especially on Mac).