Chord Help!

Det

ewewe.pngIm new to music an im currently stumped, why does D have 4 notes? and not 3 , thanks for the help

Im new to music an im currently stumped, why does D have 4 notes? and not 3 , thanks for the help

Smooth voice leading from that Bm to the D and then a doubled root for the D major chord probably because it sounds good (but not necessary, just mainly to pad the sound of the triad).
I hazard to guess they were playing the Bm with the 3rd (D) in bass to make the switch to D major easier since both chords have two notes in common: Bm with D in bass [D-F#-B] to D [D-F#-A] Its just a one whole step finger move back from B to A.
I would not get hung up on the doubled root though because that extra D note sets nothing up for the following chord (E min triad [E-G-B]) in that progression.

Last edited:
I just want to reiterate: The doubled root of the D major chord (the D an octave higher than the one in bass in the example) is nothing to get hung up on since its only purpose here appears to be for padding the sound of the triad. Sometimes, a musician will eliminate the root of the chord altogether, especially if they are playing chords with lots of extensions and alterations. When I started analyzing tunes, it used to bog me down but now its like, "meh, whatever works".

Last edited:
Thanks for the help, not to be a bother but you no what your talking about could you explain what minor 7th and 9th and major 7th mean? and why isnt there major 9th?

First thing first: GOOGLE UP A PIANO KEYBOARD DIAGRAM. IT WILL MAKE THIS MUCH EASIER TO SEE AND UNDERSTAND BECAUSE I AM ABOUT TO GO ALL THE WAY IN LIKE A PRISON NIGGA ON SOME NEW BOOTY, SO LUBE UP AND LETS GO.

Scales are made up of intervals. The basic interval formula for a major scale is:
w-w-h-w-w-w-h or whole step-whole step-halfstep-whole step-whole step-whole step-halfstep
Try it on the keyboard, moving up from C until you land on another C. This works for any major scale.