is it better to just get really good with one daw or try different ones?

mcbuckets

id like to know if i should just get better using one daw or if id learn more messing around with different types?

I agree. Just learn to get your ideas down & find some way to organize them so you can call them up when you need.

Once you learn what you're looking for & how to get it, the DAW crap will sort itself out.

I believe learning functionality for the long haul is the best option.

As an engineer, I can hop in front of ANY DAW for the 1st time and get the basic ins and outs in minutes to record and mix a song no differently than I would in one I know because I've seen enough interfaces to recognize the small things that may be moved around or labeled differently.

That helped me alot when I used to jump from studio to studio taking gigs. It would suck to walk in the room and say "you got Cubase? Oh, I can't record or mix in that". Irony is SONAR was always my 1st choice in DAWs, but once moving to a Mac I had to jump to Pro Tools which I already knew from using it in other studios making the transition easy.

I tell you this story to say...there's never gonna be a situation where "bad" comes out of knowing more tools that help you at your craft.

With that said...you still want to stick to your guns by all means. Whatever you work best in is what's best for you.

I agree pretty much with what everyone has said thus far. In the beginning of course you are going to probably hop around to different DAWS until you find the right one for you. I have found that when you really learn one DAW inside and out when you experiment with other DAWS you will find the basic operations on each are fairly easy to grab a hold of if you already have knowledge of a DAW in general .

Learn one DAW and stick with it.

By learning one DAW inside and out, you come across shortcuts, tips, tricks that will speed up your workflow.