Beginner Producer

roryjavant

Hey you guys,

I am rather new to producing. Right now my funds are very limited and I do not have any gear, aside from Logic Pro. I am currently working with ear buds for headphones and built in I-Mac speakers. My question is, with my limited setup right now, what would be most efficient for me to practice under these terms. i.e. song structure, reading books, tutorials, etc. etc. I should have the funds within the next 2 months to purchase a decent set of monitors, but until that time, what should I be practicing?

disclaimer: What I have been doing is attempting to make tracks with this limited setup, read, and watch tutorials. This may be what I am needing to do. Just wanted to hear some experienced producers thoughts.

Thanks,

Rory

What genre(s) are you interested in? Why are your funds limited? Instead of Logic Pro, find a DAW that has a free trial so you can try out different ones before sinking money on something you won't use. Ear buds are a no-no so research headphones within your budget. Computer speakers are never ideal for creating music.

Last edited:
House mainly at the moment. I don't see why you are asking me why my funds are limited as it is irrelevant. Also, I understand that ear-buds suck and computer speakers are not ideal, which is why I asked the question that I did, How can I progress with what I have now. I've tried several DAW's and find that I like Logic. I'm sorry, not to be mean, but your answer was not beneficial. Thank you anyways.

Get as many tutorials in as you can in the meantime I'd say. And no matter how crap the tutorial, force yourself to follow along, no matter how simple. You usually always pick up something! Busyworks beats has some really nice ones. Take whatever melody they're using, switch it up and make it your own. Even if a tutorial isn't using your style of music, just learn, learn and learn some more! ;)