Beats for free?

DaBomb

Now i know the topic of broke ass rappers has been covered several times.

but Im tryna gain some understanding on this.....

Im not a producer who's above sellin beats for da low or even giving beats away for free.... I take philosophy that beats arent like oil. Its very renewable. And they are something that in a certain sense you just pull from your head so you should be able to make as many as you want......

BUT why would i give my beats for free to rappers wit no fan base? Like if Jeezy wanted my beat for free. Den yeah im all for it. Or if an up and coming rapper wanted to start a partnership den yeah i might do it.

But why da hell would i give beats too a rapper dats got less den 500 friends on myspace free beats? What da hell is he doin for me? Why does he feel like he's doin me a favor?

If I found a rapper with the same potential as Jeezy with no fan base I'd give him as many beats as he wanted, I'd help him build a fan base. Its about building relationships.

The thing is ... you don't need to GIVE anything to anybody. Set up an arrangement where you allow them a conditional use license ... they can use your stuff for live shows or whatever. As long as they don't get paid ... you don't get payed ... it's exposure for both of you. If there's money involved you split it 50/50 until such time as he wants to put some other arrangement together. You make it clear that he only bhas it exclusive for x number of weeks/months, and you renew as necessary.

Any rapper who won't agree to that is just playing you.

its funny... im a producer and i still get free beats from a few people... i have no fan base but i kill ****... u dont have to currently have a fan base to get on... i just look at how their **** sounds...

dansgold said: