Advice needed

strnpch

Hey guys
New to this website and also beginner producer

I have been working on improving myself musically (studying music theory again..listening to different genres..etc) however, I always find my beats to sound empty? repetitive? there is always something I don't like and mostly that it sounds empty, and what I hear just doesn't sound.. ENOUGH?:cry::cry::cry: if that makes sense
I am extremely new to this whole thing and especially having problems with tackling mastering and leveling and so on which I read on some other forum could be the solution to the beat sounding empty problem:shame:

Any advice on where to start on those? It will be really appreciated!
What did you use when you first started? for example if youtube, whose tutorials helped you the most? and so on!

(I use sennheiser HD 280 pro and FL studios)

Hello,

I've been producing for about 7 months, I'm a far cry from an expert.

In the first month or two I looked up youtube videos for like 30 minutes every day to learn a bit about Ableton which I use. Then I challenged myself to make 100 songs in a year. I'll easily make that goal, and it forced me to make lots of music. Id have a couple weeks of crap music then another thing would "click" and I could hear the improvement. Going back to stuff I was making a few months ago sounds like a complete joke compared to what I am capable of making now.

Ignore your empty beats and keep using new sounds and techniques everyday until you find some stuff you like.

Here is a random beat I made, simple and needing vocals to bring it to life but I'm happy with it for now. Whats your stuff like?

For Thomas To Listen To by Severin Aegir | Free Listening on SoundCloud

Hey Severin!

Thank you so much for replying and for your advice! Actually last night I went back to things I made last year and I can hear a lot of improvement, but it’s like tackling areas that have always caused me difficulty are what making me anxious about it