Skoolys tips on buying dj equipment (LONG POST)

oftware

I dont know what production software to use to start out producing beats.. I am a total novice at everything pertaining to software and wonder what program would be best for me. Garageband doesn't seem to have any really hot sounds for hip hop music and when I try to manipulate the sounds they sound even worse. I have a mac and thats it so maybe someone can also give some knowledge about equipment I should buy also
Anyhelp much appreciated..

LinearDrummer1

If you're just starting out producing beats then get FL Studio and buy hip hop sounds. You can search on youtube for sounds of hip hop. The stock sounds in FL studio are not that great.

Reason has good stock sounds if you don't want to buy extra sounds.

But if you're serious about making music then I would buy more sounds. There are a lot of websites that sell hip hop sounds.

Hope this helps

I dont know what production software to use to start out producing beats.. I am a total novice at everything pertaining to software and wonder what program would be best for me. Garageband doesn't seem to have any really hot sounds for hip hop music and when I try to manipulate the sounds they sound even worse. I have a mac and thats it so maybe someone can also give some knowledge about equipment I should buy also
Anyhelp much appreciated..

LinearDrummer1

Ok so i been looking into buying a turntable for sampling,scratching,and mixing my budget is in the $400-$500 im making underground hiphop/hiphop tracks
What kind of turntable and mixer would best fit my needs. Any and and all advice is much help thanks

was looking into buying something like this. will def bookmark thread and read later

Great post. You should add in midi controllers now though! I know this is an older post, so midi controllers weren't as popular then, but I think it would be VERY beneficial! :)

DJ Whrr