Numark BattlePak turntable/mixer/headphone package: worth it?

masonhandshake

Hey, I'm new to producing and djing in general, I want to start experimenting/learning about dj'ing so I can incorporate it into my production. I was looking around guitarcenter.com and came across a "package" consisting of two TT1625 Turntables a DM950 Mixer and some headphones (they look ****ty but I have a pretty dope set of phones myself). it's priced at about 400 bucks. is it worth it to begin with? I anticipate I would have to upgrade the mixer when I start to wise up to the tables. my gear includes a macbook a midi controller, an mbox 2, protools and ableton live. thanks in advance

my little brother has that same setup and honestly im not too thrilled about it. numark has made some good turns and 1625s are one of them.

honestly, i would stay away from battle packs. i started with a battle pack a while back and i only ended up upgrading to technics. if youre really serious about djing just spend the extra buck and get a set of technics. you dont even have to buy 1210s cause REALLY they do the same thing that the 1200s do. 1200s arent that expensive anymore either.

if you dont like technics and just want to stray away from that "industry standard" then get a pair of vestax pdx series turntables. i just picked up a pair of pdx 2000s. these are pretty old too cause now i think they have the 2600s or something. i dunno. but these are DOPE if you are in to scratching. i mean other than the fact that its a straight arm which really helps with anti skipping, its got an ultra pitch so you can remix virtually ANYTHING together. its got platter brake control so you can control how you want the vinyl to stop and start AND its got a heightened platter. i dont knwo what that really does but i like it. hahahah...i also like the fact that the RCA and Ground cable arent built in to the turntable so you can use monster cables if you wanted to or a fatter ground cable.

you make the choice.