New to DJing.

Azair

Hi all.

I'm a young student, been into music for a long long time. Right from alternative/hardcore metal to ambient minimal electronica, some dubstep and hip hop. I'm beginning to think if I should begin DJing/Mixing/sampling.

I play piano and I sometimes produce music with the piano connected to Logic, but I also want to do some playing. Som real playing with beats etc where you can practise all day long.

I'm low on cash, since I'm a poor poor student and I'm not sure if I should start purchasing a sampler, try it out, mess around with it. If so, what can you guys prefer?
Should I go for turntables? Isn't that too expensive when you're 17 years old and have not one single record? Or for CDJs or is that "only" the house Djs diggin' that.

Im not sure where this exactly will lead to. I mean, if I go buy a sampler, I get the touch for it, I might want to spend more money on those things, but Im not going out messing up my bank account cuz I wanna "try somethin' out". So if I feel like it, I'll step up as a DJ, try to get some job at clubs in weekends, you know what Im saying? So thats kinda how things are right now.

PS: sometimes i see interviews and clips of these oldskool DJs that is keepin it real and so on, but how the **** did they start? I mean? Were they like rich mother****ers going out purchasing hundreds of records and two pairs of the finest turntables and a dope mixer? How did they start? I think its all about spontaniousness. I mean, just thinking, im gonna do this 100%.. but Im just not sure yet. Any thoughts on this?

PSS: i cant find the "view my topics" or "latest answers topics" button, so I gotta find this topic in the forum and that can be real tough with all you guys posting all the time hehe :P

Thanks for your time and considerations, appreciate it!

peace out!

You could always get a student loan and buy equipment...

Azair said:
Haha, I know what consequences that can have.