Help! My tonearm/cartridge/needle is moving when I scratch.

ThaCrucifix

Ok, so I've recently purchased a pretty good direct-driven turntable (Audio-Technica LP120-USB) and some vinyl. I'm completely new to all of this.
I've followed the instructions in the manual down to the smallest detail and when I play records it works perfectly.
I'm certain that I've set the anti-skating, the tonearm and counterweight correct, but the problem I'm having is when I scratch.

When I scratch, the tonearm and the cartridge starts moving sideways, back and forth.
The faster I scratch, the more it moves and I can't really scratch fast because then my needle jumps/skips on the record.
What am I doing wrong here? I've tried adjusting the anti-skating and the counterweight to different levels (even though they were right according to the manual),
I've tried playing both brand new and older records, and I've tried with and without my "homemade plastic slipmat" beneath my regular slipmat.
I'm going to order a new needle and cartridge (the Shure M44-7) better suited for DJing/scratching, but I want to be able to scratch a little bit in the meantime.

So, to summarize, my tonearm/cartridge/needle is moving around when I scratch and I want to know how to stop this.
(This is my first post by the way. I'm thankful for any response.)

I don't know anything about that turntable as I'm sticking with my tried and true Technics, but a few things. Are you turning up the weight at all after you have it set up per the manual? Cause when scratching you will need an extra turn or two on the weight. I just looked at the turn table it looks like an exact replica of the technics, pretty sweet. Did you get it brand new or used? If used does it look like the screw (on the little bridge looking thing on the base of the tone arm) has been tampered with? If so somebody probably screwed up the bearings.