Hamster vs Regular

C

Code Blue

Which are you? Hamster or Regular?

I'm just learning and I'm finding that hamster is somewhat easier. Is this unusual?

Are there any disadvantages to scratching hamster style?

I'm the original hamster man. I learned that way back in 1986 when I started out. I do everything backwards on the tt's because I didn't have anybody to learn from other than what I heard on tapes or wax. I thought the tt's were supposed to be hooked up like that. It made sense to me. But now after being in the game for over 17 years I've also learned to mix the normal way. I can't really cut and scratch that way, although I can nail a few every once in a while. My advice to you is to learn the normal way just because it's the right way. Especially MIXING and BLENDING. The reason is because you may find your self in the same situation I found myself in when I started getting booked for clubs and parties with other dj's in the lineup and gear that is already provided. I was the only one who was backwards and there were NO fader reverse switches at the time which some mixers don't provide today as well. It was like culture shock when I stepped to the decks and you can imagine the train wreck I caused and the other dj's laughing at me and asking me why I was backwards. Learn the normal way for mixing. As for the scratching and juggling that's your call. To tell you the truth the only thing that I would probably learn hamster would be scratching. Everything else I would learn normal. But that's just my opinion. Good luck.

Do what works for you or what feels more comfortable...

But also, in the same respect, if you force yourself to do what is harderfor you initially you'll have to try harder and will probably end up being better. Just my experience..

Either way it takes dedication so go...mix...scratch..NOW!!!

Flares

OK, thanks for the feedback so far...