DENON TURNTABLES!?

ctwickman

Whatsup people...

Well, I have 1200's and of course love them--they've given me no real problems. However, when I spin hip-hop it's really tough to mix with only +/- 8% pitch to control things, and when a hip-hop choon is playing at +8%, for instance, the rapper's voice sounds like a chipmunk... techno/house/trance is all good though....

My question is, I've been REALLY considering selling my 1200's, pocketing the extra cash, and diving into Denon DP-DJ151's. They look REALLY sweet guys--they have a higher torque motor than the Technics (WOW!), have +/- 12% pitch which would solve my problems mixing hip-hop, and get this, they have realtime key adjust/time stretch to keep those rapper's voices in check. All this, while I'm sure they kick just as much *** for techno and DMC with all that torque.

Now I have NO first-hand experience with these--I haven't seen them around 'cept for the 'net. But they look completely killer, and I'd be willing to sell my 1200's to get them if they can back up their specs, and that's saying A LOT FOLKS! :)

Peace,
Chris

if i were u i wouldnt sell ur techis.
there is a piece of gadgetry called vinyl touch (i think thats what its called )that keeps maintains key at any pitch on the turntable similar to what the denon does.
u should be able to find it at http://www.htfr.co.uk
i know there is a way of increasing the pitch range on the 1200's it requires u to open ur deck up and change some settings. i think dj thy would be able to fill u in on it.
ive seen the denons up close. never worked with them. the guy who was using it said that it felt a bit light. im not qsure what exactly he meant by "light".

so the bottom line is. if ur keen on a change then sell ur techis and go out and buy the denons.