Breakbeats

S

sidrao

i'm a little new to mixing and have always been puzzled by the term breakbeat. i hear the word thrown around pretty often especially by one one my know-it-all friends but havnt been able to get information out of him.

what i want to know is what exactly is a breakbeat and how does it help while mixing.

any help?

Sure. By the way, welcome to the onlineDJ.com community ;)

The most common criteria for breakbeats are clear drums and
percussion in a 4/4 measure. The snare usually plays on 2 and 4: so . 2 . 4. There may also be other snare hits in the measure. Nearly all breakbeats descend from the breaks on James Brown records, where he goes HUEENNNNGG and the band stops.

Basically, a breakbeat is the beat in that break. James Brown's drummers have historically created syncopated beats (i.e. off the measure), very often, around the third beat. In Primer notation: 1 2 33 4.

thanx manoOne, very informative - though i still have a doubt. one of my friends is taking part in the DMC championships and one of the criteria for judging is listed as 'creation of breakbeats'. how exactly does one do that?

I think that might be drumming. Catching the record on a beat and then bringing the record back to another beat or something. Just creating your own breaks with a record. Or I could be giving you wrong information cause Im stupid, but I think thats right.

[Edited by Appollyon on 09-08-2000 at 08:35 AM]

yeah...

I think you might be right mate...you take a kick and a snare and anything else you want and you scratch them using the fader to take out the backward motion and then put the kicks and snares in whatever order you liketo create a phat funky break!

mixin with breakbeats