best cartridge/ needles for a stanton straight arm

foerster

you know me well
Ok I am new to DJ turntables.. I had been sampling on an old one until I got this Stanton Str8-80..
It was used.. but still works fine, the only problem is I think the stylus is worn out. It is the DJ craze cartidge.

Now I know that for straight arm turntables you can't use an eliptical cartridge.. I think.

So can anyone recommend a good sounding cartridge or needle (not sure what i have to replace) that will be good for sampling, using a straight arm turntable?
It is not necessary that it is good for scratching, mixing, or anything like that.

Thanks!!

For a nice sounding Dj style cart i think the Shure m35x, Stanton SA-890 or probably an Ortofon OM Nightclub S are the 'top' picks.

The Only problem w/ Shure 35 series, the cartridge does not like to be grounded. the Str8-80 has a self grounding cable so w/ any 35 cart u will get a hum

yurp

if u can afford it, i'd go with a m447, they really aren't that expensive, considering u'd be getting a really quality cart. and once u mount them corrected.. they stick to ur vinyl, especially with a straight tone arm

Thanks for the help...

I should have made it more clear: I am looking a reasonably priced cart that will sound good and fit a straight arm.
It is not necessary that the cart be good for mixing, scratching, back cueing, or anything dj related... Just for sampling

oh sorry, i didnt realize its just for sampling.. in that case u should look into a pickering cart. they are strictly for sound quality.. and they are reasonalbly priced.