Balancing Tone Arm - Technics SL-1200MK5

M

Murahachibu

Just got a new deck and I could use a little help with my set-up. I'm new to this, so please bear with me.

I have a Shure Whitelabel cartridge on an SL-1200MK5.

So I know I need to balance the weight so that the arm is floating right above the disc and then I should dial in the small gram balance to like 2.5 to 3.5 grams (as per the whitelabel's set-up instructions). My deal is that when I do that, the needle end is still too light, it floats away during play back. I need to add more weight on the main balance weight to stop this, but I'm not sure how much is too much. Also, I'm no turntablist, but when I attempt any scratching at all or even back cueing for that matter, the needle bounces away and won't hold the groove. How precise to I need to be here with weight. I don't want to screw up my records and needle.

Update (1):

I kind of randomly added a little extra weight and the sound quality seems to have improved. I don't know if my needle is just starting to break in or if the weight made it better. Anyway, still hoping to get an answer about how careful I need to be because I don't want to screw up my wax. Thanks.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
so, when you say the small gram balance below, what exactly are you referring to?

then I should dial in the small gram balance to like 2.5 to 3.5 grams

i have whitelabels and don't have a problem with them. i know you said you were new to this, so i have a feeling that when you say you are dialing the "small gram balance", you are only turning the black plastic collar at the front of the weight instead of the entire weight. this does nothing to add weight, all the collar does is allow you to set zero for your particular cart. once you get the needle floating, hold the main siver part of the weight where it is and then turn the black plastic collar to now be at zero. now turn the entire weight to 3.0 grams or so and you should be good to go. hth
jeff h